Packing and spring cleaning

I don’t know about you, but I do not like knick knacks or clutter.  Since I have been sick since February, the whole clutter thing has gone out the window.  So, while I am packing, I have been throwing things out left and right.  I have had a yard sale, sold stuff online, gave stuff away, and threw stuff out.  It makes me feel like I am spring cleaning.  I love the way my house looks after a nice thorough clean.  For those of you that haven’t known me my whole life, I used to have the worst room ever.  It was always messy.  I can’t even tell you what color the carpet was (did I HAVE carpet??)  Now that I have a home, I like to keep it clean.  That hasn’t been the case lately, but I do enjoy packing up the stuff I want to keep, and getting rid  of the stuff I don’t.  I feel so blessed just to have stuff to get rid of.  There are so many people out there with nothing.  I really feel blessed to have so much, and I love to share those blessings with others.  Also, while I was packing last night, I looked at our wedding album and my kids baby books.  I can’t believe my oldest is now 14.  Where did the time go?!  It seems like just yesterday she was born.  I am looking forward to moving and getting settled so I can put together some memory books for myself and my kids.  I love looking through photos of our vacations and fun times together.  We love to have adventures, and we have lots of fun together.  Maybe part of the reason I don’t like knick knacks is because I like to live out my adventures, not hold on to “things”.  I like to have experiences and adventures.  As I pack away my belongings and get rid of the junk, it really makes me appreciate my family and the fun we have together.  It makes me appreciate the abundant blessings the Lord has given us.  I look forward to cleaning and packing because it makes me stop and look back on where I have been, and encourages me to go forward in a godly way.  I hope my kids don’t remember the clutter, but that they remember the love and fun we have shared.  I pray that they remember that their parents love the Lord and try to live for Him.  I hope that by getting rid of the clutter, it will give us more time to spend together.  Now, if only I could get my kids to feel the same way as I do. . .

This entry was posted in My life.

Leave a Reply

