Wasting money. . .no more

I am sad to say, but I’m probably the queen of wasting money.  Ok, maybe not the queen, but at least a duchess!  I have made so many foolish purchases over the years.  Some insignificant, some with lasting consequences.  From buying jewelry and clothes I don’t really like, to purchasing a house in an area I knew nothing about.  I’m not proud of what I have done, but I am very thankful for the lessons I have learned (and are still learning).  Some of the decisions that I have recently made regarding large purchases, or any purchase really (now I’m not talking about thrift store finds or yard sales, obviously those need to be snatched up IF they are on your list of things to get)-other than necessities are:

1. Do NOT make a huge purchase that same day.  Sleep on it, pray about it.  If it’s meant to be yours, it will still be there tomorrow.

2. Do not get reeled into a purchase.  Words like “this won’t last”, “you need to jump and get it now”, etc. should be red flags.  Again, if it’s meant to be yours it WILL be there tomorrow.

3. Make sure it’s something you REALLY love.  Not just like, not just ok, but love.  When you are spending a lot of money on an item (for me anyway) it will be something you have for a very long time.  Make sure it’s what you want.  I have wasted so much money on things other people say look good, or I am tired of shopping and just buy it, or I settle, but no more.  If I don’t love it, I don’t buy it. I’d rather wait for the perfect purchase than to be stuck with something I don’t really love or is not exactly what I needed.

4. Always buy with cash.  I have actually been doing really well with this one, but it’s good to remember.  If you don’t have the money, you can’t buy it NO MATTER WHAT!  The borrower is a slave to the lender, and I want to be free! Car loans, credit cards, they don’t do you any good, but just add stress to your life.  All that can be avoided if you are patient and save up.

5. Research and make sure what you are getting is a good deal.  I also have been pretty good with this one lately.  With online searching, you can also check ratings to see if what you want to buy is a quality product.  Sometimes it’s worth a little more money to get a better quality item.  If you can wait until there is a sale, even better!

I know that whatever money I have is really God’s money, and I am just a steward of it.  I am going to try really hard to be good with what He has blessed me with.  I hope that I will no longer be wasteful with money, but wise, patient and a good steward.  I hope that you too can find ways to be smart with money.

Leave a Reply

