Showing kids kindness

One thing I can’t stand more than anything is when I hear that a child has been abused.  While I was in college, the bulk of my classes were law enforcement classes, and I heard endless stories of abuse, and neglect.  Close family members have suffered abuse and neglect.  I do not understand how someone could abuse innocent children, just because they cannot control their own rage.  What in the world could this child have done to deserve this kind of punishment?  Usually the answer is . . . nothing.  Most of the abuse I hear about has nothing to do with what the child has done.  It usually stems from the adult being so overwhelmed and out of control that they just snap.  There is no justification for an adult to come so unhinged, and if they can’t control themselves, they need to remove themselves from the family and get the help they need.   While in college, I got to thinking; how can I help children that maybe are not in the best home life?  Well, one of the best ways I can think of, is to help out with the kids during Wednesday night church.  Some people see kids that act up and want attention.  I see a child that might be abused or neglected at home and is just acting out, in hunger, for attention, ANY attention, that they do not receive at home.  If you see a child that is the class clown, or withdrawn, they too may be abused.  The best gift we can give them is to be someone they can count on.  Someone that cares for them, and encourages them.  I try to compliment them and tell them how proud I am of them.  Maybe they aren’t abused, maybe they just like to goof off.  Only God knows.  I do know that giving a kind word, or a sincere smile can make anyone’s day a little brighter.  God doesn’t call me to understand or to fix their problems, but He does call me to be compassionate and loving to others.  Even those you feel may be difficult to love.  Show love to your family, give your children mercy, smile at a child that may need their spirits lifted.  You may be the only ray of hope in their life, and you may never even know it.  Proverbs 15:7 “The lips of the wise disperse knowledge: but the heart of the foolish doeth not so”.  Are we spreading knowledge or are we wasting our speech on foolish talk?  Are we spreading kindness to others or do we look down on them for being “different”?  Try showing kindness today.  It will makes others feel better, and it will make you feel better, too.

Leave a Reply

