Make your summer healthier

Since the weather is getting hot, I thought I would share some of my favorite summer items.

1. Sunscreen 

I know there is a HUGE market out there, with 100 different options for sunscreen.  Personally, I am the WHITEST person I know.  I burn so fast and so bad, I feel that I’m a pretty good judge of which sunblocks work, and which ones don’t.  I try to make sure I buy sunblock with Titanium Dioxide and Zinc Oxide in the top 3 ingredients.  My favorite sunblock is: Aveeno Baby Natural Protection Mineral Block SPF 30.  The only 2 active ingredients are Titanium Dioxide and Zinc Oxide.  It rubs in well, unlike some zinc sunscreens out there, and it is fragrance-free, oil-free and waterproof.  I do not burn when I use this, which is great!  I can use it on my face too!  The one I have is similar to this:

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Aveeno-Baby-Mineralblock-Face-Sunblock-SPF-50-.5-oz/19477086

2. Hydration

Hydration is so important, but especially in the summer.  I do not usually drink anything but water, and I have been using purified water for a few years now.  My body is so used to it, that if I drink tap water, my kidney’s hurt.  But buying bottled water is expensive, and I don’t really like the idea of drinking from BPA bottles.  So a few years ago, my husband and I bought a Berkey water filter.  These things are so powerful, they can filter dirty water and make it clean.  In fact, they recommend you put food coloring into the top section (where the unfiltered water goes) and make sure the filtered water is clear (to make sure the filters are installed correctly).  This item is amazing!  Plus, when you are in the middle of a hurricane or some other natural disaster, you will always have clean water.  It was well worth the original cost!  I have the Royal Berkey with 2 black filters.  They have other sizes, and I have also used the smaller clear Berkey that family members have.  They all work great and give you crystal clear, fresh water!  If you get the Stainless Steel one, make sure you order the sight glass spigot to go with it (sometimes they offer this for free, so check for special offers!)  When I ordered mine, I got my choice of 2 free gifts.  I chose the glass spigot, and the travel water bottle that I love to bring when we are going out of the country.  It has a filter inside it, so when you suck the water it is automatically filtered.

http://berkeywater.com/start.main.html

3. Sunglasses

Having very pale skin and very blue eyes, I also have a very hard time keeping my eyes open in strong sunlight.  I love to use dark sunglasses that have thick sides to keep the sun out from every angle.  I also make sure that my glasses are polarized to block the glare.  If you have not used polarized glasses, you need to get a pair.  They work wonders!  I can see great, and there is no glare!  I didn’t post a picture, because there are so many different places to get them.  You can get polarized glasses at Wal-Mart, Kohl’s, Sports Authority, and many other stores.  Just make sure the glasses are 100% UVA and UVB protected.

4. Rash guard

Since I burn easily, I also am a huge fan of rash guards.  They not only protect your skin from damage (and cancer!) but they also keep you modest.  I love that they also (usually) contain UV protected material.

http://www.sportsauthority.com/product/index.jsp?productId=12427217&cp=&sr=1&kw=womens+rash+guard&origkw=women%27s+rash+guard&pg=2&parentPage=search

These are just a few of my favorite summertime items. Have a great summer.  Stay hydrated and burn free!

**I am not getting anything from any of the companies, I just wanted to share what works for me, so maybe it can help you as well!  🙂

This entry was posted in My life.

Leave a Reply

