Oysters

Do you ever feel that your trials keep piling up?  That you can’t even come up for air before another situation occurs?  When I feel hopeless or even helpless, I have an analogy that I try to remember.  I think of myself as an oyster.  Plain on the outside, but beautiful on the inside (at least, that is the way I try to be).  I picture my trial as a few grains of sand.  They come inside and irritate, annoy, even hurt me.  Then I picture Christ.  His love fills me and coats me with a soft, smooth covering over the trial.  Even though the trial (sand) is still there, it no longer irritates me, or hurts me.  It has now been given to God.  God has taken that trial and turned it into something good.  Instead of an irritating, harmful bit of sand, there is now a beautiful pearl in it’s place.  The pearl has surrounded the sand and taken it away from harming the oyster.  That is how we should feel when we have accepted Christ as our Savior.  Getting saved does not protect you from trials, but God will protect you and help you learn and grow from them.  Instead of getting infected from the trial in our life, God takes it from us, just as Christ took our sins on the cross.  God looks to our inside, which is the beautiful inner shell of the oyster, which reminds me to keep my thoughts pure.  We should not be concerned with our outward appearance, which is like the outside of an oyster.  Nothing special in it’s own right, but with God, it has a beautiful pearl on the inside.  Notice that the pearl is the part that has real value.  We are nothing without Jesus, but with Him we have great worth.  So the next time you have a trial in your life, think of the oyster and how with Jesus, you can get through anything.

Romans 8:28 KJV

“And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”

This entry was posted in My life.

Leave a Reply

