Encourage your kids

One thing I have learned as a parent is that every child is different.  You can parent them all the same, but they all have their own special talents and their own set of emotions.  This may be obvious, however, parents still tend to try and raise them all the same way.  What works for one child in discipline does not always work with another.  What one child finds interesting may frustrate another.  Learn to read your children and see what works best for each child, and what each child enjoys.  For example, all of my children are creative, however, one loves to write their own stories, one loves to draw and one loves to build things.  I try to encourage each of them in the areas that they love (another great part of homeschooling!).  It can make for more clutter in the house, which I do not like, but if it helps them to grow and develop their skills, I will deal with it gladly.  I have a ton of “how to draw” books, “write your own story” books, Lego building plans and an assortment of arts and crafts items.  I try not to cringe when the kids grab the expensive printer paper to use for artwork instead of their cheap dollar store construction paper, because they “need” that type of paper for whatever project they are doing 🙂 Instead, I try to go with the flow and praise their hard work.  They are all so creative and talented in their own ways.  Try to encourage your children, praise them for their creativity and help them to learn and grow.  Don’t discourage them and wish that they were more like their siblings or your idea of the perfect child.  Find something that they love and encourage them.  There is nothing a child loves more than feeling that their parents are proud of them.  As a Christian, you are modeling Christ.  When we do something that pleases the Lord, it makes us have a sense of happiness and accomplishment.  Share that feeling with your child today.  Compliment them on something, (not their looks but their talent).  Every person has something they are good at, share some encouragement today.

Psalm 32:8

 I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go: I will guide thee with mine eye.

One comment on “Encourage your kids

  1. Valerie Wright says:

    Hi Katie, You are such a wonderful writer. I am always captivated by what you say. I have enjoyed these last few posts too. Love all of them. I just got home from work a little while ago, I am very tired but, so happy I am getting hours. Please pray I get more each week/month and that way we can pay our house off sooner. Love you all, Mom

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

