Finding Peace When We Feel Like Screaming

I usually try to write happy posts.  I like to keep it light, but today has really made me think about what really truly matters in life.  Most people hate trials.  They hate it when bad things happen.  Now, I’m not saying I like it when bad things happen, but I am very much thankful for the trials I have been through.  Whether it be the death of a young loved one, or financial hardship, or physical pain, I am thankful for the things I have been through.  Yes, it is extremely hard when bad things happen.  I have had many times where my life felt hopeless and the grief was unending and so hard to bear, but after the storm is over, there is always a rainbow.  There is always a purpose for my suffering.  No matter what the situation is, it always brings me closer to Jesus Christ.  It helps me to relate to others going through the same struggles.  It helps me to grow wiser, stronger and to become a better person.  A better Christian.  I know it is hard when bad things happen, but instead of pushing away God, try clinging to Him.  Try coming through the pain, not as a victim, but as a survivor.  Whatever your struggle, you don’t have to remain in victim mode.  Yes, grieving and crying is very healing, but after the grief and tears comes healing.  And it only truly comes from Christ.  Trusting in Jesus was the best decision I ever made.  Did it stop anything bad from happening to me.  No. Did it change how I handled the sorrow? Absolutely.  If you have trusted in Christ, you will never be alone.  Your trial is for a purpose.  You may not see it now, but through your struggle, God can do great things.  No matter what happens, I choose peace.  I choose joy.  Some days is harder, much harder, than others, but we have a choice.  We can choose to have peace knowing God has a plan, or we can choose to wallow in our pain, in our suffering.  I honestly believe that I am a better person for my struggles.  I am wiser with money, more sympathetic to others, smarter, safer. . . I thank God for my struggles, because they made me who I am today.

 

**If you are not sure how to get saved, I got this from: http://www.christianevangelism.net/tools/abc.html

 

ABC’s of Salvation

The ABC’s of salvation are an easy way to explain salvation to someone.  In addition to being easy to explain, they are easy to remember so anyone can share the gospel without a lot of memorization.  The ABC’s are:

·         Accept

·         Believe

·         Call

Accept that you are a sinner.  Romans 3:23 tells us that “all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.”  To sin is to miss the mark.  God has set standards for us to live by and no matter how good we are at keeping them, we’re not going to be perfect.  Even the youngest of children know right from wrong and they know when they have done wrong.  We need to accept that we’ve done wrong things.

Believe that Jesus died for our sins and then rose from the dead.  Romans 5:8 tells us “While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”  If we only accept that we’re sinners, we’re in trouble because the first half of Romans 6:23 tells us that “the wages of sin is death.”  Sin means separation from God eternally which means we would suffer hell away from God in heaven.  Fortunately Romans 6:23 doesn’t end there but continues by telling us “but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  We were dead in our sins but God did something about it by sending Jesus to die in our place.  We must believe that Jesus was able and willing to take away our sins by dying on the cross and rising from the dead.

Call upon Jesus to be saved.  Belief requires action to back it up.  Romans 10:9-10 says “That if you confess with your mouth, ‘Jesus is Lord,’ and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you confess and are saved.”  Continued belief calls for continued action.  We don’t have to keep getting saved but we should continue to put our faith into action by the way we live.  We should continue to confess that Jesus is Lord of our life.

This entry was posted in My life.

Leave a Reply

